John Byrne Cooke

PHOTOGRAPHY

Links

 
James Syme, Fine Art Photo Printer
Email jesyme.syme@gmail.com
Phone 215-880-5462

Whose Images are on CookePhoto.com

If you search the Web for these names or organizations, you may find many more sites that offer information about them. This list contains websites that have established links with CookePhoto.com, or that John has a special interest in bringing to your attention.

Paul Arnoldi: http://www.paularnoldi.com
Clarence Ashley: http://www.clarenceashley.com
Joan Baez: http://www.joanbaez.com
Big Brother & the Holding Company: D.A. Pennebaker: http://www.phfilms.com
Leonard Cohen: http://www.leonardcohenfiles.com
Dock Boggs: http://www.longtimecoming.com/dockboggs/
Judy Collins:http://www.judycollins.com
Mimi Fariña: http://www.breadandroses.com
Janis Joplin: http://www.janisjoplin.com
Bill Keith: http://www.beaconbanjo.com
Spider John Koerner: http://www.mwt.net/~koerner/
Maria Muldaur: http://www.mariamuldaur.com
fan site: http://www.din.or.jp/~hideki-w/mariaphoto.html
Bob Neuwirth: http://www.bobneuwirth.com
Peter Rowan: http://www.peter-rowan.com
Tom Rush: http://tomrush.com

Robert Altman: http://www.altmanphoto.com
Not the film director; this Robert Altman has been chief staff photographer for Rolling Stone in the late 60s, a fashion photographer, and a television producer/director for KEMO-TV in San Francisco, where he currently lives and works.
Jim Marshall: http://www.jimmarshallvault.com/
See especially his images of Jimi Hendrix and the Rolling Stones.

Mary Katherine Aldin: http://www.aliveandpicking.com
Alive and Picking is a radio show Mary Katherine hosts on KPFK in Los Angeles. She plays a lot of music by pickers whose names occur elsewhere on CookePhoto.com. On her website's Calendar page, she lists live concerts in the Los Angeles area by artists who may be of interest to fans of 60s music.
Club Passim: http://www.clubpassim.org
Club Passim occupies the premises at 47 Palmer Street in Cambridge, Mass., where the Club 47 was located from October 1963 until it closed in 1968. Passim carries on the tradition of presenting top-notch acoustic music in a setting that will be very familiar to anyone who remembers the old days.
D. A. Pennebaker: http://www.phfilms.com
In addition to "Don't Look Back" and "Monterey Pop!" D.A. Pennebaker has made several other films with music or musicians as their subject. "Monterey Pop" is now available on DVD, featuring outtakes and interviews to supplement what many, including John Byrne Cooke, consider to be the best rock concert documentary ever.
Festival Productions Inc.: http://www.festivalproductions.net
Producers of the Newport Folk Festivals then and now, as well as about two dozen more annual music festivals around the U.S., including the New Orleans Jazz Festival.
Folklore Productions: http://www.folkloreproductions.com
Folklore currently manages Doc Watson, Geoff Muldaur and Mike Seeger. In the 1960s, founder Manny Greenhill managed a host of well-known folk artists, including the Charles River Valley Boys.
The Great Folk Scare: http://www.zipcon.net/~highroad/folkscare.html
This site celebrates the folk revival and offers a wealth of links to recordings, books and videos by and about the musicians and the music of that era. Even the names of those artists the site's Webmaster has chosen not to include are linked to CD reissues of their work.
The Putney School, Putney, Vermont: http://www.putney.com
John highly recommends his alma mater, the Putney School, to any parents who hope their child will learn to think for him/herself and lead an original, creative and satisfying life in control of her/his own destiny.
Ralph J. Gleason: http://www.jazzcasual.com
For information about the life and work of the legendary San Francisco music writer.
Red Dog Enterprises: http://www.reddogenterprises.com
If the psychedelic sixties were born in the dancehalls of San Francisco, they were conceived in the Red Dog Saloon in Virginia City, Nevada. Mary Works, whose father, Don Works, was one of the Red Dog's founders, has made a wonderful documentary film about this little-known chapter in the birth of the San Francisco rock music scene. Originally titled "The Life and Times of the Red Dog Saloon," the movie is now out on DVD, retitled "Rockin' at the Red Dog: The Dawn of Psychedelic Rock." On Mary's website you'll find a link to buy it, and much more.

Back To Top